Massage Therapist Licensing in New Jersey

New Jersey massage licensing

New Jersey Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements

Start Your Massage Therapy Career in New Jersey

The state of New Jersey executes licenses at the state level and is overseen by the Massage, Bodywork & Somatic Therapy Examining Committee. The state requires 500 hours of education at an approved school or a passing score on the NCETMB exam.

Applicants must also show certification in a Basic Life Support (BSL) course. Massage therapy applicants must have a criminal background check performed. License renewals regulations are not yet in place.
The state of New Jersey enacted the Massage & Bodywork Therapist Licensing Act on January 13, 2008. The statute creates a new licensing board called the “New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy,” which is not yet in effect.


New Jersey Massage Therapy Licensing Requirements

Licensing Requirements: Mandatory State Licensing


Request Application: The application fee is $75, the certification fee is $120 and the criminal background check is $78.

For more information on the following topics, go the there website listed above for more information.

New Jersey Massage Therapy Application

Massage, Bodywork & Somatic Therapy Act

New Jersey Regulations

Massage & Bodywork Therapist Licensing Act


Contact Information

Massage, Bodywork & Somatic Therapy Examining Committee
124 Halsey Street
Newark, NJ 07102

Phone: (973) 504-6430

Fax: (973) 648-3481



Top Massage Therapy Schools in New Jersey

If you are interested in going to a top massage school in New Jersey, you’ll want to look at the schools listed below.New Jersey massage certification requirements We’ve hand-selected a list of some great New Jersey massage therapy programs for your review. Simply click on the links below for more information.

Going to massage therapy school is an exciting prospect. If you’ve dreamed of a career in massage, health and beauty, or spa industry, but are have some questions, then look no further.

Simply find a campus that suits you, and click on the Request Free School Info button. A representative from the school will contact you with answers to questions about massage programs, scholarship availability, how to apply, financial aid, and any other questions you might have.



< Back to Licensing by State