Massage Therapist Licensing in Tennessee

Tennessee massage licensing

Tennessee Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements

Start Your Massage Therapy Career in Tennessee
The state of Tennessee oversees the massage therapy license with the Tennessee Board of Massage Licensure which was created in 1995. The state requires a minimum of 500 hour of education and training from an approved school.

Applicants must also obtain a passing score on the NCETMB or MBLEx exam. Criminal background checks are required with all new applications. The license renewal period occurs every 2 years and there is a 25 hour CE requirement.

Tennessee Massage Therapy Licensing Requirements

Licensing Requirements: Mandatory State Licensing


Request Application: The initial license fee is $280, the fingerprint fee is $48 and the renewal fee is $185.

Tennessee Massage Therapy Application

Tennessee Statutes, Rules & Policies

Contact Information

Tennessee Board of Massage Therapy
P.O. Box 1062
Sioux Falls, SD 57101

Phone: (615) 532-3202 ext. 32111 or (800) 778-4123 ext. 32111

Fax: (615) 532-5164

Email: [email protected]


Top Massage Therapy Schools in Tennessee

Looking for a top massage school in Tennessee? We’ve selected the leading Tennessee massage therapy programs for your review.Tennessee massage certification requirements Find a campus that interests you, and click on the link for more information.
If you’re contemplating a career in massage therapy, you’ve probably got some questions. How much does massage school cost? What type of degree can I get? How about massage therapy diplomas and certificates? Is financial aid or scholarship money available? How about night and weekend classes?

For answers to these important questions, simply find a campus you’re interested in, and click on the Request Free School Info button. A representative from the school will get in touch with answers to all of your questions.



< Back to Licensing by State